We drove to Westgate on Sea yesterday, mainly to get a break from London’s pollution, and have our lunch outdoors. As we started to walk along the beach, I couldn’t resist to pick up a shell here and there, as well as my favourite limpets and stones. (See my Cornish Limpet Sculpture here)  The stones I collected were pure white colour, quite gritty, some of them had formed lots of holes and gaps in their structure. I guess that shape and grainy surface is due to the water and waves hitting it on the shore repetitively. The stones are Limestone, variety Chalk. ‘Chalk: A soft limestone with a very fine texture that is usually white or light gray in colour. It is formed mainly from the calcareous shell remains of microscopic marine organisms such as foraminifers or the calcareous remains from numerous types of marine algae.’ (reference: http://www.geology.com)

Before I realized, I had a bagful of pure white treasure in all sizes including a couple over 20 cm long. Some of the stones inspired me. They looked a lot like my latest sculptures…and you are my witness, that I only discovered them after I made my ‘From the Bottom of the Sea 1-6 ‘ Series of sculptures. You can see the similarity here on this image:

What is my plan to do with the Limestone? It is very soft in texture, and it can be used for drawing, (tried and tested on the beach already), or my other plan is to carve in to them, use them in an installation or use them as part of another sculpture, made out of  plaster. I will let you know, once I do this!

Meanwhile, the stones are drying in my studio already, where we dropped them on the way back to London. They will  need to be cleaned before anything else, and here is a photo of the whole group in the background along with some new sculptures in progress in front.

.

Why don’t you send me your photos of the stones you found? Is your art inspired by outdoors? I’m curious to see your images! Cheers. Silvia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

