What a day it was on Wednesday! I managed to get in to Angela Marmont Centre for Bio Diversity, Natural History Museum, London, which is specialized research centre open to public and professionals, to search, study, identify and talk to experts about anything you can think of from Natural History. Not always booking  recommended. I was in need of seeing  Bombylius Major. I love the name, sounds like a soldier fly, but in fact it is a Bee-Fly. The name might be misleading. It is a fly, that pretends to be a bee! It’s behaviour is fascinating. It lays eggs in bee and wasp nests, it pollinates flowers with it’s elongated nose and it hates cold. It can wrap up it’s wings around to keep warm. So much more to tell, but instead, I present to you, my own photos of the specimen. Cheers and remember, not all that looks like a bee, is a bee! Don’t  kill it.

Bombylius Major - Bee Fly

Angela Marmont Centre for Bio Diversity, Natural History Museum, London

