The exhibition season is picking up nicely this coming week. I’m very excited about two events in particular. London Art Fair will start  from 18-22 January 2012, with a preview evening on 17th. It is always refreshing to see the variety and talent London Art Fair has to offer. I’ll be reporting more on it during or once I visit it. Here is a link to their website for tickets and more  http://www.londonartfair.co.uk/

I’d like to share my excitement about the second event this coming week, which I’ll be attending. It is the exhibition called “Fly to Baku” in Phillips de Pury & Company, Howick Place, London SW1P 1BB opens on 18th January and closes on 29th January (click for the exhibition catalogue here). This amazing and unique show is presenting the Contemporary Art from Azerbaijan, featuring 21 Azeri contemporary artists, curated by Hervé Mikaeloff. I had the honour to exhibit with one of the artists presenting his work in “Fly to Baku”  Mr. Mir Nadir Zeynalov. Our roads crossed in the international show in Gabala organized by the SEBA Cultural Exchange Association, which happened in December 2011. This event brought me to Baku for the first time, and admittedly I have decided to return to Azerbaijan as soon as possible. I was impressed with the culture,people’s kindness and their endless generosity. I have also discovered a museum, which is for me the best I’ve ever experienced, with no exaggeration – The Museum of Modern Art in Baku. I’m currently in a dialogue with them about our possible collaboration, however it’s early days for any details to be revealed. I have written a blog article about my experiences in Azerbaijan – “My visit to Azerbaijan” please read it if you like.

I’m pleased that exhibition “Fly to Baku” will give me another opportunity to see some Azeri Art. At least two artists, if not more are exhibiting in the Museum of Modern art in Baku as well. One of them, Altair Sadiqzadeh has his sculptures set in the building, in a form of a staircase, which is in a way heart and soul of the building. The artist where he could avoided the straight lines. See the picture below. I had the pleasure to temporarily install my From the Bottom of the Sea sculpture there, with the images below again. If you would like to hear more about both, the Museum of Modern Art, why not to follow this 15min long tour video taken by me on my visit, and about “Fly to Baku”, I’ll be updating my blog after my visit. Thanks for reading and I might see you there.

My sculpture titled From the Bottom of the Sea on a visit of the Museum of Modern Art in Baku, Dec 2011

