I was pleased I could visit a studio of an artist and an art writer who I’ve been following for some time. The perfect opportunity came when I attended Fabelist’s Imprint Festival in Serpentine’s Gallery project space. I was captivated by a performance/art installation organized by invited Edible Art Movement – “Sing for your Supper – Draw for your Dinner”. I’ll talk about this in more detail later on in this article, but first I’d like to introduce Nicola Anthony. I’ll be introducing her in two ways really. Here in my blog and live on Colourful Radio on 16th Feb. at 12.10pm in my “Silvia Krupinska’s Artist of the Month”. My slot features as a part of Rosemary Laryea‘s “Art and Culture Show”. Now you can listen to the 15 min recording of the slot on Colourful Radio below –

Anthony herself exhibited at the Imprint Festival and also took part in the mentioned performance. I could copy and paste her very well written and polished Artist Statement, but I’m not going to do that. I’d like to give you my personal perspective on her work and her studio.

As I entered Anthony’s studio in cultured and busy Southwark, I could smell traces of resin in the air. It was a good sign of a busy and experimental studio, which I fully expected. I’ve known Anthony for a few months, nevertheless I never talked to her about her work in much detail, nor visited her creative hub before.

The walls are covered with textural drawings, lines, words, texts and cut-outs from magazines and papers. Under her window on the right is a desk, where she writes her art reviews and other works. The wall on the opposite side is very well lit. It’s a photography corner with two amazing glass and resin glass sculptures. There are works in progress on the floor and leaning on the walls, but the whole space is very organized and planned. The remaining wall, as I came in on my right, is full of date drawings, other textures and generally paper works dominate.

Artist Nicola Anthony in her art studio, 13.2.2012

Have you ever seen the drawings done entirely with text or dates? If not, you might like to look at these experimental pieces that Nicola Anthony produced.

Mneme, drawing, Nicola Anthony

Detail 1 -‘Arbitrage’, N.Anthony – collage drawing

These are a couple of 2D examples of Anthony’s work. I personally love their texture and originality. However my personal favourites are Anthony’s 3D sculptural glass and glass resin pieces. The shape, ideas and technical finish of those are to me some of the reasons, why she deserves to be admired. Here are a couple of her small studio examples of the 3D works – which followed by this sculpture.

N. Anthony, Green Glass Sculpture, 13.2.2012

N. Anthony, White Glass Sculpture, 13.2.2012

Before I have to move on to the amazing Edible Art Movement and it’s installation, you have a chance to look though this gallery of the rest of the photos taken on my visit in Anthony’s studio. I can strongly recommend you to visit Anthony’s website and her blog. Do follow her, she has always something informative to say, with her art and and also with her articles! I and the artist herself would appreciate any comments regarding this post or her work. Thanks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second part of this blog article, as you know from the beginning will be dedicated to the Edible Art Movement. This is a definition of the movement I found on one of their sites:

“The Edible Art Movement (‘EAM’) was founded in the early 1920s by a group of experimental artists, intellectuals, poets and philosophers drawn together by a shared passion for food and art.
Members sought to subvert conventional ideas of what food and art should be whilst at all times seeking to create incr-edible art. Their overarching philosophy may be summed up in their motto, recited at the start of every meeting: “We Art what we Eat”.”

My understanding of the movement is that a group of creative people put on events, that celebrate food in more than “to be eaten” sense. They underline food as a way of artistic expression, food often being the art and a catalist between the art and the audience by engaging the visitors fully in the process. The EAM underline the textures, shapes and other unsual characters of food, which might be unnoticed in an everyday life. As an example I’d like to show you a video I did, while taking part in the recent installation done in Serpentine’s Centre of Possible Studies, in the Fabelist’s Imprint Festival – “Sing for your Supper – Draw for your Dinner”.

I’m going to finish with an image of EAM’s installation but if you liked to hear more about events and exhibitions that EAM put on, you can register to be on their mailing list here. For more visit EAM Facebook page or their website. Thanks for reading my blog, and come back again!


