I’m writing this post from a cloudy London, but my mood is instantly transformed when I think back a few weeks. It was the time of the ideal weather and the beauty I’ve experienced in one of the most buzzing and charismatic cities in Europe, Lisbon. Let’s just imagine for a while that we’re in Portugal! I’ve a gallery and an artist to introduce to you. I’m ready to return to a holiday mood, at least by looking at these Lisbon at night images…

Central Lisbon at night

Central Lisbon at night

IMAG5073

Tram at night in one of the steep streets of Lisbon

St. George's Castle (Castelo de Sao Jorge) in the distance

St. George’s Castle (Castelo de Sao Jorge) in the distance

*

GALLERY/ARTIST INTRODUCTION

arte periferica gallery snap logo

Arte Periferica Gallery

Arte Periferica Gallery

Gallery for today is Arte Periferica. This gallery putting on twelve exhibitions per year is situated within the Cultural Centre in Belem, where you can also find The Berardo Collection, which is a museum with an impressive art collection of world calibre. More on the museum on this link.

Arte Periferica on the right, and a walk through of the Cultural Centre Belem

Arte Periferica on the right, and a walk through of the Cultural Centre Belem

Now as I got all the links out of the way, I can tell you about the exhibition and artist I found impressive in Arte Periferica. I saw Feelings and Discoveries exhibition, which was running from 08/03/2013 to 05/09/2013, displaying works by a couple of talented artists – Charles Chauderlot and Sylvain Bongard. I have a photo report of the works by Sylvain Bongard in this exhibition, as I personally made a connection with his works.  Sylvain Bongard was born in Switzerland, and he is living in Portugal since 1970. He had studied in Germany and England for four years, but his love of Portugal was stronger and he returned there after his studies. His studio is near Ferragudo fishing village in Algarve, and it’s open to visitors. Seeing those spaces, it’s clear where he get’s the inspiration from. The nature! The surroundings of the studio are made into an installation itself. From a pool with fish, to patios with plants and magical atmosphere, it’s a relaxing place to be.

His sculptures are skilfully done in clay and he often submerges them in the sea, to photograph them, to bring the best shots out of them. They truly become alive in the water. He sculpts fish, birds and other animals too. When I was in Arte Periferica gallery, I could see some sand on the sculptures. I wonder if the sand was a left-over from the sculpting process or some evidence from the dives those sculpture undergone?

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture in combination with pot for catching octopus

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

My favourite Sylvain Bongard sculpture

My favourite Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture, looking amazing in the sun

Sylvain Bongard sculptures in Arte Periferica

Sylvain Bongard sculptures in Arte Periferica, including some sculptures of an owl and cockerel

Sylvain Bongard sculpture detail

Sylvain Bongard, detail of a Crab sculpture

Sylvain Bongard sculpture and Charles Chauderlot drawings in Arte Periferica 01

Sylvain Bongard sculpture in the front and Charles Chauderlot drawings on the wall in Arte Periferica

Thanks for reading my post, I hope you’ve enjoyed my selection!

I welcome your suggestions and comments, as always. If you think I’d like your gallery, your artists or your works of art and you’d like to be featured on my blog, do let me know. I’m looking forward to it. Until next time, good bye!

