postcards-4-620x411

In my usual post-reading on Twitter yesterday, I came across a strong and original project in Slovakia. Not often I’d run to blog about everything I read on Twitter, but this one I liked a lot! Let me introduce you to SOYART, O.S created by Igor Rjabinin a Michaela Kučová, specializing in and supporting of the young Slovakian art and student art rental service for offices. The idea of  Mail Art is that nearly 50 young Slovakian artists created 200 little artworks on a small card format. SOYART will post out those artworks in Slovakia for free, in collaboration with Slovenska pošta.

Who receives them? It can be anyone who registers for it (until/including 21.3 2014, with a Slovak postal address) and is picked by chance by SOYART. I’ve put my parent’s address forward when I registered, as I live in London! You might ask what is this project good for? Well, the aim of this project is to engage and establish a form of a dialog between the Slovakian artistic community and the public in Slovakia, also to show off the young talent there is and at the same time to remind people of the beauty (and romanticism I add) of the postal communication. It’s a form of educating of the wide audiences about art and bringing to their attention that it doesn’t have to cost a fortune to own a good quality art piece. Whether your Mail Art you receive is a collage, painting, photography or embroidery, it’s bound to be a great artwork! If I get one, I’ll share it here! I can’t wait and good luck to you too!

Here is a little video that I picked up from Mail Me Soyart on YouTube.

 

 

Artists that participated are:  •  •  •  • •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  • •  •  •  •  •  • •  •  •  •  •  • •  •  •  • •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  • 

Source: @SoyartSK, SOYART SK, internet.