Normally when I make a new sculptural series or any other art, I try to exhibit the works pretty soon after (or they are made for a particular show). It wasn’t so much the case with The Bio Landscapes series. They were made around 5 years ago. I never before felt it was the right time to exhibit them. They were weirdly different and a bit “alien”. I borrow this word from my very good friend Charlotte Bint, who wrote about them in 2010. (To read the full text visit my about page and scroll down.)

“The cumbersome forms have an uncomfortable presence in the room, as they seem to posses a level of autocracy. Though they speak clearly of their own physicality and materiality, when encountering them, there is a sense that one has just missed out on witnessing their manifestation, and that their status of full and real existence in the world has only been very recently established. There is something of the supernatural or alien about them, a feeling that they are encroaching. Simultaneously appearing both transient and weighty, their ambiguity only adds to their weirdness. Despite the human hand being so prevalent in this work, one could almost believe that they are able to change form independently.”

The time has come. I’m showing them for the first time in the exhibition space of the Central Saint Martins College in London, where I’m studying my MA Art and Science. The Big Space as we call it there, is the ideal arty cultivating space for them. When the brief for this group show came through, they lit up in my head. : )

A big thanks to Alex Schady for installing the Bio Landscapes higher I could reach. Cheers to photographer Bonamy Devas for the install photos, too. I’ll bring more images from the exhibition very soon. There are some amazing works to be seen by around 50 CSM students. Thanks for reading and have a great November! S

IMG_20141118_131536

Bio Landscapes (2009) (C) Silvia Krupinska

 

IMG_20141119_143447

CSM_BIG_Space_install_19-11-2014-2

Photo by Bonamy Devas (2014)

 

 

 

