Thank you very much for taking time to read today’s post. I’m writing this blog post to tell you about my recent experience near by a river during my holidays back in Poprad, Slovakia.This river is significant to me, as I’m working on a long-term project, kind of a case study about it. The end product will be a sculpture, but meanwhile, I’m researching and putting together some data (supported by Slovensky vodohospodarsky podnik), including making some practical experiments on site, directly with the river. Copyright-Krupinska-2014,-Poprad-River-in-Poprad-Dec-2014-websize-07 hypsometric map of slovakia river poprad 01 The Poprad River is 142.5 km long and its spring (1494.3 metres AMSL) is considered to be nearby Popradske pleso (Poprad Mountain Lake) in The High Tatras Mountains. It merges into Dunajec River in Poland where its journey as an independent river ends, however Dunajec River has a trip to complete up north to the Baltic Sea. I was born in Poprad, where this river has been a normality to all of us, and often I’d taken the river for granted or simply I hadn’t given much thought about it. Until 13th February, 2014, when I heard of some terrible news*. Allegedly, seven kilometres of the river, starting near by the industrial town Matejovce, was poisoned by 20 times more than allowed dose of cyanide substance. I learned from the online news articles, that all life including plants were devastated and unable to renew their natural ecosystem for at least next 5 years to come! This careless human behaviour made me very upset and angry. Hence my renewed interest in the river. (Nevertheless this wasn’t a random interest in water themed subjects, I’d done a whole series of Mountain Lake Drawings last year.) Copyright-Krupinska-2014,-Poprad-River-in-Poprad-Dec-websize06 So far I’d done a set of abalone mother of pearl drawings, wire models of the river, I’ve researched the flow and altitude of it, but finally directly reunited with the river, I was able to record the sounds of the stream at various points in Poprad-Zapad. My lovely helper Tatiana and I were walking along stopping to observe and note down interesting areas where the river sounded particularly pleasant, making sure the sound wasn’t too strong due to small water falls and so on. The plan is to combine the physicality of the sculpture (about which you’ll find out about in the near future) with the sound effects from the recordings. Here is one example of a recording on SoundCloud to feed your imagination. (Please adjust your sound levels if necessary.) If you have any feedback, and you’d like to comment on this or other posts on my blog, you can easily do so at the end of the articles. I look forward to hearing from you, as ever. I’m going to work on the sculpture itself in the coming weeks and the plan is to have some substantial works done by the end of March. What are you working on? Perhaps you have similar interests or are a scientist working in potamology? Let yourself known. Keep in touch. I’m keen to collaborate, especially now during my MA Art and Science at CSM, London. Yours, Silvia * some of the online news links in Slovak I found about the poisoning: http://spravy.pravda.sk/domace/clanok/309986-kyanid-zabil-rieku-ako-poziar-les/ http://www.ekoton.sk/rieku-poprad-znecistil-pravdepodobne-kyanid/

